The State History Museum of the Kyrgyz Republic is one of the largest museums in Central Asia. It occupies a leading place in the republic and its collections are a real treasure reflecting the history, culture, way of life, traditions of the Kyrgyz people in a wide time range - from ancient times to today's Independent Kyrgyzstan.
The museum was founded on December 9, 1925 by the decision of the Presidium of the Executive Committee of the Kara-Kyrgyz Autonomous Region. The basis for the creation of the museum was invaluable findings in the history, ethnography of the Kyrgyz people, collected by the first director of the museum, ethnographer S. Abramson. In 1927 the museum was opened for visitors in one of the rooms of the parents' house of the commander M.V. Frunze. Famous historians like A.N. Bernshtam, S.K. Kerimbaev, K.I. Antipina, V.Y. Galitskiy and others made a great contribution to the acquisition of archaeological, ethnographic and natural science collections.
During its history, the museum changed its name and location several times. Originally the museum was called Central, in 1933 it was transformed into the State Museum of National History, from 1943 – the Museum of National Culture. In 1954, it was renamed the State History Museum of the Kyrgyz SSR.
In the sixties the building was transferred to the museum, built according to the project of the architect A.P. Zenkov in 1926-1928 for the Government of the Kyrgyz ASSR. Since 1991, the museum is located in a building, built in 1984, according to the project of the collective of the Institute “Kyrgyzprostroy”.
Currently, the collection of the museum has more than 100 thousand items. Among them are the objects of world significance, which were repeatedly presented at international exhibitions in France, Finland, Japan, Turkey, and also were exhibited in the Central museums of Russian cities.
The museum conducts active work in the most diverse areas: acquisition, storage and restoration of exhibits, cataloging of funds, scientific research and preparation of new exhibitions, publishing and cultural and educational activities, and it is the scientific and methodological center in the Kyrgyz Republic. Since 1976, the State History Museum of the Kyrgyz Republic is a member of the International Council of Museums (ICOM).
A new page in the history of the museum began in 2016, after the capital repair of the building, a new exposition was created at the initiative of the President of the Kyrgyz Republic A. S. Atambaev, meeting the world standards of museum fare. The museum has become a major center of science and culture, a place for a lively meeting of rarities and visitors, where you can really immerse yourself in other times, visit the cave of an ancient man and the “Golden Pantry”, get acquainted with unique ethnographic collections, see exhibits on the history of the Soviet period, the Independent Kyrgyzstan and many other items. The wide application of 3D technologies, media stations and interactive programs create a vivid image of each era. The new exposition is presented in such a way that, fascinated by what they saw, visitors left the museum with a single desire – to return here again and again.