• History

  • The State History Museum of the Kyrgyz Republic is one of the largest museums in Central Asia. It occupies a leading place in the republic and its collections are a real treasure reflecting the history, culture, way of life, traditions of the Kyrgyz people in a wide time range - from ancient times to today's Independent Kyrgyzstan.

    The museum was founded on December 9, 1925 by the decision of the Presidium of the Executive Committee of the Kara-Kyrgyz Autonomous Region. The basis for the creation of the museum was invaluable findings in the history, ethnography of the Kyrgyz people, collected by the first director of the museum, ethnographer S. Abramson. In 1927 the museum was opened for visitors in one of the rooms of the parents' house of the commander M.V. Frunze. Famous historians like A.N. Bernshtam, S.K. Kerimbaev, K.I. Antipina, V.Y. Galitskiy and others made a great contribution to the acquisition of archaeological, ethnographic and natural science collections.

Historical heritage

During its history, the museum changed its name and location several times. Originally the museum was called Central, in 1933 it was transformed into the State Museum of National History, from 1943 – the Museum of National Culture. In 1954, it was renamed the State History Museum of the Kyrgyz SSR.

In the sixties the building was transferred to the museum, built according to the project of the architect A.P. Zenkov in 1926-1928 for the Government of the Kyrgyz ASSR. Since 1991, the museum is located in a building, built in 1984, according to the project of the collective of the Institute “Kyrgyzprostroy”.
Currently, the collection of the museum has more than 100 thousand items. Among them are the objects of world significance, which were repeatedly presented at international exhibitions in France, Finland, Japan, Turkey, and also were exhibited in the Central museums of Russian cities.


The museum conducts active work in the most diverse areas: acquisition, storage and restoration of exhibits, cataloging of funds, scientific research and preparation of new exhibitions, publishing and cultural and educational activities, and it is the scientific and methodological center in the Kyrgyz Republic. Since 1976, the State History Museum of the Kyrgyz Republic is a member of the International Council of Museums (ICOM).

A new page in the history of the museum began in 2016, after the capital repair of the building, a new exposition was created at the initiative of the President of the Kyrgyz Republic A. S. Atambaev, meeting the world standards of museum fare. The museum has become a major center of science and culture, a place for a lively meeting of rarities and visitors, where you can really immerse yourself in other times, visit the cave of an ancient man and the “Golden Pantry”, get acquainted with unique ethnographic collections, see exhibits on the history of the Soviet period, the Independent Kyrgyzstan and many other items. The wide application of 3D technologies, media stations and interactive programs create a vivid image of each era. The new exposition is presented in such a way that, fascinated by what they saw, visitors left the museum with a single desire – to return here again and again.

• История


  • Государственный исторический музей Кыргызской Республики - один из крупнейших музеев Центральной Азии. Он занимает ведущее место в республике, коллекции которого являются настоящей сокровищницей, отражающей историю, культуру, быт, традиции кыргызского народа в широком временном диапазоне – с древнейших времен до сегодняшнего Независимого Кыргызстана.

    Музей основан 9 декабря 1925 года по решению Президиума Исполнительного комитета Кара-Киргизской Автономной области. Базой для создания музея послужили бесценные находки по истории, этнографии кыргызского народа, собранные первым директором музея, ученым-этнографом С. М. Абрамзоном. В 1927 году музей был открыт для посетителей в одной из комнат дома родителей полководца М. В. Фрунзе. Дальнейшую работу по развитию музея продолжил крупный историк Кыргызстана К. У. Усенбаев Большой вклад в комплектование археологических, этнографических и естественно-научных коллекций внесли известные историки А. Н. Бернштам, С. К. Керимбаев, К. И. Антипина, В. Я. Галицкий и многие другие.

Историческое наследие

За свою историю музей несколько раз менял название и место нахождения. Первоначально музей назывался Центральным, в 1933 году он был преобразован в Государственный музей краеведения, с 1943 года – музей Национальной культуры. В 1954 году переименован в Государственный исторический музей Киргизской ССР. В  60-х годах музею было передано здание, построенное по проекту архитектора А. П. Зенкова еще в 1926-1928 гг. для Правительства Киргизской АССР. С 1991 года музей расположен в здании, построенном в 1984 году по проекту коллектива института «Киргизпрострой».

В настоящее время собрание музея насчитывает более 100 тыс.  единиц хранения.  В их числе предметы мирового значения, которые  неоднократно представлялись на международных выставках во Франции, Финляндии, Японии, Турции, а также  экспонировались  в Центральных музеях  городов России.

261A6261-min

Музей ведет активную работу по самым различным направлениям: комплектованию, хранению и реставрации экспонатов, каталогизации фондов, научным исследованиям и подготовке новых выставок, издательской и культурно-образовательной деятельности, является научно-методическим центром музейного дела в Кыргызской Республике. С 1976 года Государственный исторический музей Кыргызской Республики является членом Международного Совета музеев (ИКОМ).

Новая страница в истории музея началась с 2016 года, когда после капитального ремонта здания, создана по инициативе президента Кыргызской Республики А. Ш. Атамбаева новая экспозиция, отвечающая мировым стандартам музейного дела. Музей превратился в крупнейший центр науки, культуры, в место живой встречи раритетов и посетителей, где можно реально погрузиться в иные времена, побывать в пещере древнего человека и «Золотой кладовой» , ознакомиться с уникальными этнографическими коллекции, увидеть экспонаты по истории советского периода, Независимого Кыргызстана и многое, многое другое. Широкое применение 3D-технологий, медиастанций и интерактивных программ создают яркий образ каждой эпохи. Новая экспозиция представлена таким образом, что завороженные увиденным, посетители покидали музей с единственным желанием – вернуться сюда снова и снова.